ltmcd 2375

Revenge | One True Passion V2.0

Deluxe 2xCD reissue of the sole album by Revenge, the electro/hard rock hybrid fronted by New Order bass player Peter Hook between 1989 and 1992. Following the release of Technique in 1989, the four members of New Order spent time apart to pursue other ventures. Always intended as a proper band rather than a solo project, Hook was joined in Revenge by Chris Jones and Dave Hicks, and later by David Potts, who would remain with Hook as part of Monaco five years later.
One True Passion was originally released by Factory Records in June 1990 and spawned a trio of singles: 7 Reasons, Pineapple Face and Slave. Given free reign to indulge Hook's leather-trousered rockist instincts, the material welded hard rock to dance beats, with a lyrical focus on sin and redemption. The artwork was just as contradictory, combining sleek Peter Saville typography with softcore imagery by Suze Randall. The band toured like bastards, and in January 1992 delivered the excellent ep Gun World Porn, which offered a more laid back, intimate feel.
Deleted after the messy collapse of Factory in late 1992, One True Passion has now been extensively reconfigured by Peter Hook, and includes Hook's new recordings of the late period unreleased tracks The Wilding and Televive. The set comes with a full-length bonus disc, Be Careful What You Wish For, with lots of rare remixes and unreleased songs in demo form. All 33 tracks, nearly two and a half hours of music, have been carefully digitally remastered. The booklet includes sleevenotes by Joy Division/New Order biographer Claude Flowers, and a new, highly candid interview with Peter Hook on the background of the band.

| tracklist
01 Televive
02 The Wilding
03 Deadbeat
04 State Of Shock
05 Little Pig
06 Cloud 9
07 Jesus, I Love You
08 Pineapple Face
09 Big Bang
10 Slave
11 14K
12 Bleachman
13 Surf Nazi
14 7 Reasons (Demo)
15 Amsterdam
16 It's Quiet

01 Underworld
02 Dead Beat (Gary Clail Dub)
03 State Of Shock (US Edit)
04 Pineapple Face's Big Day (US Remix)
05 The Trouble With Girls
06 Wende
07 Slave (Bonus Beats)
08 I'm Not Your Slave (US Remix)
09 Hot Nights/Cool City
10 Surf Bass
11 Bleach Boy
12 Soul
13 Kiss The Chrome
14 Fag Hag
15 Precious Moments
16 Pumpkin
17 Pineapple Face (Pickering & Park Remix)



All contents Copyright © 2004 by LTM Publishing & FB.